Okanagan Symphony Orchestra presents Amadeus

Okanagan Symphony Orchestra presents Amadeus

The Okanagan Symphony Orchestra presents

The OSO is proud to announce our third concert in the Chase Wines Masterworks series. This month we will be featuring the music of one of classical music’s greatest prodigies, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

We are also thrilled to announce that our guest artist for these performances is none other than our own OSO principal, Erin Fung, on clarinet. Erin is in demand across the country as a soloist, chamber player and orchestral musician. Her appearance is made possible by the generosity of our Guest Artist Sponsors, David and Diane Bond.

During his lifetime, Mozart produced over 600 works that included symphonic, operatic, chamber and choral masterpieces. Featured in this program will be three of his most mature works: Eine Kleine Nachtmusik, his final concerto for clarinet and the well-known “Jupiter Symphony”.

OSO Music Director Rosemary Thomson says, “It’s amazing to think that the mature period of Mozart’s compositions happened in his mid-thirties. The creative genius of his final serenade, his final symphony and his final concerto (composed just two weeks before his death) astonishes me. The depth of beauty in the slow movements and the wit and charm of the fast movements are nothing short of brilliant. I can’t wait to live inside this joyful music which will banish the January blahs with its warm sunshine.”

Guest artist Erin Fung says that the Mozart clarinet concerto holds a very special and dear place in her heart. “During Mozart’s life, the clarinet was a relatively new and young instrument with only five keys! Because Mozart really fell in love with the instrument and its ability to imitate the human voice, he helped establish its place in classical music by incorporating it into his operas and late orchestral works, and featured it prominently in pieces such as the inimitable Concerto. In playing it, you almost feel like you can trace the thread back to the beginning of the clarinet’s existence, and experience a piece of music that’s been in the heart of every clarinetist since its conception.”

“Mozart’s concerto is a piece of stunning beauty and lyricism, and is rich in its portrayal of many complex characters. I am thrilled to be performing this beautiful work for the first time with my wonderful colleagues at the Okanagan Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Rosemary Thomson.”

Performance and ticket information are as follows:

Kelowna Community Theatre – Friday, Jan 25 at 7:30pm
Kelowna Tickets 250.862.2867

Cleland Theatre (Penticton) – Saturday, Jan 26 at 7:30pm
Kelowna Tickets 888.974.9170

Vernon Performing Arts Centre – Sunday, Jan 27 at 7pm
TicketSeller 250.549.7469

The Okanagan Symphony Orchestra is the third largest professional Symphony Orchestra in British Columbia, entertaining residents of the Okanagan Valley and visitors from around the globe with symphonic music since 1960. To learn more about the Okanagan Symphony Orchestra visit their website at www.okanagansymphony.com, follow at www.facebook.com/OkanaganSymphonyOrchestra or find us on Instagram and Twitter.

Previous articleInterview with Sandra Bullock for Bird Box
Next articlePendance Film Festival Announces 6 Feature Films


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.