BC Sports Hall of Fame Induction Gala returns June 1

BC Sports Hall of Fame Induction Gala returns June 1

The BC Sports Hall of Fame is thrilled to announce that its 52nd Induction Gala will take place at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver on Thursday, June 1. Tom Mayenknecht, Chair of the BC Sports Hall of Fame said, “We are extremely energized about being able to honour and celebrate the inspiring athletes, builders, pioneers, media and supporters who have been selected for inclusion in the BC Sports Hall of Fame. The Gala event is an annual highlight and the induction of this year’s class will help launch us into an exciting new chapter in the growth and development of the BC Sports Hall.” The 2023 Induction Class includes: Athletes●      Mitch Berger – Football●      Dennis Kearns – Ice Hockey●      Kelsey Serwa – Ski Cross●      Dr. Jaimie Borisoff – Wheelchair Basketball●      Dr. Susan Butt – Tennis●      Mary-Anne Walz – Softball Builders-Coaches●      Wynn Gmitroski – Athletics●      Deb Huband – Basketball●      Jim Kojima – Judo●      Carla Qualtrough – Para Sports Team●      1971 Richmond Roadrunners Men’s Lacrosse        o   Team Members: Stan Ackerman (public relations), Ed Ashcroft, Barry Atkinson, Chuck Bourne, Gary Bregani, Jim Bregani, Jack Buchanan, Bill Clearie, Randy Crowe (president), Roy Crowe, Larry Dean, Dave Durante, Mal Follis (secretary-treasurer), Ted Gernaey, Bob Holmes, Doug May, Grant McCauley, Harvey Olsen, Gord Osinchuk, Tom Penway, Larry Phillips (team manager), Ron Phillips (coach and general manager), Jerry Pinder, Ron Pinder, Mike Safianuk, Pat Safianuk, Butch Skirzyk (assistant coach), Mike Smith, Fred Sutton (equipment manager), Bob Tasker, Brian Tasker, Dave Tasker, Bob Taylor (trainer), Dave Taylor, Gil Tetrault, Lyle Trowski, Walt Weaver, Sandy Wheelhouse ●      2012 Penticton Vees Men’s Hockey

  • Team Members: Chad Bannor, Kyle Beaulieu, Joey Benik, Nick Buchanan, Geoff Carter (trainer), Steve Cawley (assistant coach), Cody DePourcq, Steven Fogarty, Michael Garteig, Bryce Gervais, Fred Harbinson (head coach and general manager), Mike Hengen (assistant coach), Logan Johnston, DJ Jones, Chad Katunar, Curtis Loik, Mario Lucia, Wade Murphy, Grant Nicholson, Connor Reilly, Mike Reilly, Ryan Reilly, Travis St. Denis, Troy Stecher, Zach Urban

Pioneer●      Eleanor (Young) Stonehouse – Tennis●      Dr. Brian Day – Sports Medicine Media●      Dan Russell W.A.C. Bennett Award●      Jake Kerr / Jeff Mooney Once inducted, the individuals and teams will be officially recognized as Honoured Members/Honoured Team of the BC Sports Hall of Fame. Since 1966, the BC Sports Hall of Fame has inducted 442 individuals and 67 teams. For access to the Class of 2023 photo gallery, please visit: PHOTOS Induction Gala ticket purchases:Tickets for the Gala are available for $500 per person, or $5,000 for tables of 10. On Wednesday, May 31st, the 2023 Induction Class will be welcomed into the Hall of Champions in a special VIP Honoured Members Reception. Tickets for the reception are $100.Ticket purchases can be made online at: https://bcsportshall.com/inductionweek/ About the BC Sports Hall of Fame The BC Sports Hall of Fame celebrates extraordinary achievement in B.C. sport history and inspires future generations to make their dreams come true.  As a non-profit charitable organization, the Hall curates an astounding collection of 27,000 heritage artifacts and 100,000 archival documents representing 150-years of sport history in British Columbia. Through Hero in You Youth Education Programs, the BC Sports Hall of Fame reaches over 6,500 young learners each year across the province, advancing a mission of building outstanding community legacies by honouring the past and inspiring the future. For more information, please visit bcsportshall.com or follow us on Twitter, Facebook, or Instagram @bcsportshall.

Previous articleBanff Centre Mountain Film Festival World Tour heads to Toronto, March 17-19
Next articleOkanagan Chefs Association to Host President’s Dinner + Awards on March 13


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.