And the 2024 Western Canadian Music Award Nominees are…

And the 2024 Western Canadian Music Award Nominees are…

The Western Canadian Music Alliance are excited to announce the nominees for the 2024 Western Canadian Music Awards. Congrats to all of this year’s award nominees!

Blues Artist of the Year                     
Blue Moon Marquee – BC
Brandon Isaak – BC
Garret T. Willie – BC
Kinjo & Young – AB
Paul Black – BC

BreakOut Artist of the Year (Sponsored By FACTOR)
Boy Golden – MB
Field Guide – MB
Miesha and The Spanks – AB
Slow Leaves – MB
William Prince – MB

Children’s Artist of the Year             
Al Simmons – MB
Micah! – MB
Mom Bop – BC
Seeka Sings – AB
The Zing Zangs  – BC

Classical Artist or Ensemble of the Year (Sponsored By Canadian Music Centre (CMC))
Allegra Chamber Orchestra – BC
Emily Carr String Quartet – BC
Suzie LeBlanc – BC
UltraViolet – AB
Vancouver Symphony Orchestra – BC

Classical Composer of the Year                    
Dorothy Chang – Fifteen feet Closer to the Sky “All That Glitters” – BC
Emilie Cecilia LeBel – field studies “and the higher leaves of the trees seemed to shimmer in the    last of the sunlight’s lingering touch of them” – AB
Farshid Samandari – Light of Lights “Light of Lights” – BC
Jeffrey Ryan – A Left Coast “Everything Already Lost” – BC
Vincent Ho – Cheng² Duo “Horizon Images” – AB

Country Artist of the Year                 
Corb Lund – AB
Don Amero – MB
Kalsey Kulyk – AB
Nice Horse – AB
The Prairie States – AB

Electronic & Dance Artist of the Year                       
Kelland – BC
Rose Motion – BC
Ruby Singh – BC
Talltale – AB

Francophone Artist of the Year (Sponsored by APCM (Association des professionnels de la chanson et de la musique))
Alexis Normand – SK
Beau Nectar -SK
Fire & Smoke – MB
Missy D – BC
Suzie LeBlanc – BC

Global Artist of the Year                   
Jocelyn Pettit -BC
Notas de 4 – AB
Rooky Kamiz – SK
Rubim de Toledo – AB
Rumba Calzada – BC

Indigenous Artist of the Year            
Celeigh Cardinal – AB
Garret T. Willie – BC
Logan Staats – BC

Instrumental Artist of the Year                    
Apollo Suns – MB
Jocelyn Pettit & Ellen Gira – BC
Merrie Klazek  – BC
Rubim de Toledo – AB
West of Mabou – SK

Jazz Artist of the Year           
Angela Verbrugge – BC
Aretha Tillotson – AB
Audrey Ochoa – AB
Daniel Hersog Jazz Orchestra – BC
Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra – MB

Metal & Hard Music Artist of the Year                     
Fall of Earth – AB
FKA Rayne – BC
KEN mode – MB
Red Cain – AB

Pop Artist of the Year                       
Haley Blais – BC
Josh Sahunta – AB
Kayla Williams – AB
Kuzi Cee – AB
Michaela Slinger – BC

Producer of the Year             
Andy Schichter – Park Sound Studio – BC
Lana Winterhalt – MB
Liam Moes & Shane Stephenson – BC
Ryan Dahle – BC
Ryan Worsley – Echoplant Sound – BC

R&B Artist of the Year                       
Emerald Osagie – BC
JJ Adrian – BC
Sadé Awele – BC

Rap & Hip Hop Artist of the Year                  
Arlo Maverick  – AB
Junk & Massiah – BC
Mouraine – AB
Super Duty Tough Work – MB
Terell Safadi – BC

Recording of the Year           
Ariel Posen – MB
Begonia – MB
Boy Golden – MB
Michael Kaeshammer – BC
William Prince – MB

Rock Artist of the Year
Ariel Posen – MB
Kris Ulrich – MB
Miesha and The Spanks – AB
Shred Kelly – BC
Whale and the Wolf – AB

Roots Artist of the Year                    
Celeigh Cardinal – AB
Jake Vaadeland – SK
The Dead South – SK
William Prince – MB

Songwriter(s) of the Year (Sponsored By The Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada (SOCAN))
Alexa Dirks, Matt Peters and Matthew Schellenberg – Begonia “Butterfly”  – MB
Liam Duncan – Boy Golden “For Jimmy” – MB
Celeigh Cardinal, Dave & Joey Landreth “Light of the Moon”  – MB
Logan Staats “A Light In The Attic” – BC
William Prince – “Stand In The Joy” – MB

Spiritual Artist of the Year                
Anastasya Lea – BC
Brian Doerksen – BC
Cynthia Lok – BC
Marika Siewert – BC
Stirling John – AB

Video Director of the Year (Sponsored by Manitoba Film & Music)
Amy Mantyka – Beau Nectar “Two Lips” – SK
Jay Lawrance – Miesha and The Spanks “Unconditional Love In Hi-Fi” – AB
Peter Kominek – VISSIA “Doorway” – AB
Sandy Rossignol – Blue Moon Marquee “Hound Dog On a Chain” – BC
Steve Bays – The Matinee “Cut to Pieces” – BC


Audio Engineering Award                 
Andy Schichter – Park Sound Studio – BC
David Ziehr – Echoplant Sound – BC
Neil Cooke-Dallin – Burning Rainbow Studio – BC
Ryan Worsley – Echoplant Sound – BC
Steve Bays – Trophy Club Mgmt  – BC

Community Excellence Award                      
Community Arts Mentorship Program (CAMP) – SK
Good + Plenty Arts Collective – MB
National Music Centre – AB
West End Cultural Centre – MB
Women in Music Canada – MB

Excellence in Visual Design              
Bronwin Parks – Feisty Creative – BC
Keenan Gregory – Kidpixel – AB
Mark Mushet – Mark Mushet Photography – BC
Megan Kwan – Super Sensitive Studios – BC
Roberta Landreth – MB

Impact in Artist Development                      
Birthday Cake Media – MB
Misfit Music MGMT – MB
National Music Centre – AB
Paquin Artists Agency – MB
West End Cultural Centre – MB

Impact in Live Music  (Sponsored by Canadian Live Music Association)
King Eddy – AB
Midnight Agency – BC
National Music Centre – AB
Paquin Artists Agency – MB
West End Cultural Centre – MB

Impact in Music Marketing              
All Good Promotion & Marketing – AB
Birthday Cake Media – MB
National Music Centre – AB
Phase Management Inc. – BC
West End Cultural Centre – MB

Voting is now open to members of all western Provincial and Territorial Music Industry Associations. Only MIA members will be sent an email regarding login information to vote (beginning today – Tuesday, May 14).

If any members do not receive an email, please check your junk/spam folder and then contact their Music Association regarding their membership.

Voting will conclude at 11:59 p.m. PT on Sunday, May 26.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.