David Foster to receive Humanitarian Award

The 2019 JUNO Awards celebrates the country’s biggest achievements in Canadian music, live on CBC 

Corey Hart inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame

Surprise appearance by international icon Sting

Exclusive performance by Shawn Mendes from Europe

Avril Lavigne wins JUNO Fan Choice Award Presented by TD
London, ON – The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) and CBC took over Budweiser Gardens this evening for Canada’s biggest awards night in music. The awards, hosted by Sarah McLachlan, were broadcast live on CBCCBC Radio One, CBC Music, the free CBC Gem streaming service, and globally at cbcmusic.ca/junos. The highly anticipated event opened with London’s own Loud Luxury who took the stage with an electrifying performance alongside the Western University Marching Band for their London homecoming.

The country’s cream of the crop took home some of JUNO Weekend’s most coveted awards. Emerging pop-singer bülow was awarded 2019 Breakthrough Artist of the Year Sponsored by FACTOR, The Government of Canada and Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters. The Canadian-German songstress also took the stage with a medley of “Two Punks in Love” and her multi-platinum hit, “Not a Love Song.”

One of Canada’s most exciting talents, Jessie Reyez, was presented with R&B/Soul Recording of the Year Presented by CBC Music for her second EP, Being Human in Public. Critically acclaimed rock ‘n’ roll band, Arkells, who won Rock Album of the Year award at the JUNO Gala Dinner & Awards last night, added Group of the Year award Presented with Apple Music this evening. Canadian country star Brett Kissel was awarded Country Album of the Year for his latest album, We Were That SongEight-time JUNO Award winner Avril Lavigne took home JUNO Fan Choice Award Presented by TD.
Following his four major wins last night, Shawn Mendes also took home Album of the Year award Sponsored by Music Canada and delighted fans with a special performance from his current tour in Europe.

The night was capped with a very special and memorable occasion – the induction of legendary singer-songwriter Corey Hart into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame. Presented by host Sarah McLachlan, Hart was honoured for being one of Canada’s biggest success stories of all time. Fans were treated to the singer’s first live television performance in over 20 years – a stirring rendition of his massive hit, “Never Surrender” and an energizing performance of “Sunglasses at Night.”


THE 2019 JUNO AWARDS featured 11 spectacular performances including the climactic return of fan favourites Arkells; Bahamas, 2019 Adult Album of the Year, and Video of the Year Presented by Stingray winner; francophone singer-songwriter and pianist Coeur de pirate alongside Francophone Album of the Year winner, rapper Loud; Indigenous Music Album of the Year Sponsored by APTN winner Jeremy Dutcher alongside violinist Blake Pouliot; popular hip-hop recording artist NAV; host Sarah McLachlan alongside previous JUNO Award winners Whitehorse; country music duo and first-time JUNO Award nominees The Reklaws; and Pop Album of the Year nominee Tyler Shaw.
The evening’s stellar roster of presenters included Amanda Parris, host of CBC Arts: Exhibitionists, The Filmmakers, From the Vaults and Marvin’s Room on CBC Music; 2019 Humanitarian Award Presented by Music Canada recipient and Canadian icon David Foster; singer-songwriter, broadcaster, composer, activist Elisapie Isaac; francophone rocker Hubert Lenoir; cross-genre sensation, singer-songwriter Jessie Reyez; up-and-coming recording artist KILLY; Canada’s Godfather of hip-hop Maestro Fresh Wes; political satirist and author Rick Mercer; host Sarah McLachlan alongside Meriel Reed of London Girls Rock Camp; Simu Liu of CBC’s award-winning comedy Kim’s Convenience; award-winning Toronto Star journalist, author and the 2018 CBC Massey Lecturer Tanya Talaga; Canadian ice dancer and Olympic champion Tessa Virtue; The Honourable Pablo Rodriguez, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Multiculturalism; and a surprise appearance by world-renowned musician and icon Sting

The 2019 JUNO Awards Broadcast is produced by Insight Productions in association with CBC and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS). Executive Producers are John Brunton for Insight Productions, Allan Reid and Mark Cohon for CARAS and Lindsay Cox is Executive Producer and ShowRunner, Insight Productions. Susan Taylor is Executive in Charge of Production, Factual Content, CBC; Mark Steinmetz is Senior Director, CBC Music; Lisa Clarkson is Executive Director, Business & Rights and Content Optimization, CBC; Bonnie Brownlee is Executive Director, Communications, Marketing, Brand & Research, CBC; Susan Marjetti is Executive Director, Radio and Audio, CBC; Jennifer Dettman is Executive Director, Unscripted Content, CBC; and Sally Catto is General Manager, Programming, CBC.

Official JUNO Awards website: www.junoawards.ca
CBC Music: www.cbcmusic.ca/junos / Facebook: @CBCMusic / Twitter: @CBCMusic / YouTube: @cbcmusic

JUNO Awards

Twitter: @TheJUNOAwards / Instagram: @TheJUNOAwards / Facebook: @TheJUNOAwards / Hashtag: #JUNOS

Previous articleGovernment should heed Unist’ot’en message
Next articleMusic Reviews by the Rock Doctor – March 18th, 2019


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.