BC Restaurant Hall of Fame to induct two hospitality leaders from the Okanagan


BC Restaurant Hall of Fame to induct
two hospitality leaders from the Okanagan

Kelowna, August 13, 2019 On Monday October 7, 2019, some of the best-known names in the B.C. hospitality industry will be inducted into the BC Restaurant Hall of Fame. The 2019 class of inductees includes two leaders from the Okanagan: Manuel Ferreira and Stephen Cipes. They will join our industries leaders from the Okanagan previously in the Hall of Fame: Chefs Bernard Casavant and Chef Rod Butters (RauDZ Restaurant Group), Christine Coletta (Okanagan Crush Pad), Franco Coccaro (La Bussola), Sandra Oldfield (Elysian Projects) and Harry McWatters (Encore Vineyards).

This year’s Okanagan inductees are being inducted for their leadership and dedication to making the BC restaurant and food service industries world class.

Manuel Ferreira, restaurateur, is being inducted in the Active Restaurateur Category. Manny is the proprietor of Miradoro Restaurant at Tinhorn Creek (Oliver) and former owner of Le Gavroche (Vancouver). As a career restaurateur, Manny is recognized for his commitment to staff training and to ensuring the highest quality dining experience for his guests. After a career in Vancouver, Manny came to the Okanagan and through his dedication, succeeded in elevating hospitality in the Okanagan by pairing his strong wine knowledge with his leadership in the front of house. By inducting Manny into the Hall of Fame, we recognize his ability to share his passion and to foster faith in his clients and his suppliers.

Stephen Cipes, founder/owner, Summerhill Pyramid Winery (Kelowna), is being inducted as a Local Champion for providing holistic hospitality in his winery and his restaurant. Ever since Stephen Cipes first came to the Okanagan in 1986, when it was still very early in the development of the British Columbia wine industry, his determination to champion sustainability and organic agriculture, has helped him forge a unique path to success. We are recognizing him for his leadership as an advocate of the land and for bringing sustainable wines and flavours to the restaurant table.

“Manny and Stephen make us proud to recognize their excellence, professionalism and determination through induction into the BC Restaurant Hall of Fame,” says Ian Tostenson, President and CEO of the BC Restaurant and Food Services Association (BCRFA). “The restaurant industry is something that must always change and grow. I am honoured to celebrate leaders like these, who specialize in training the next generation, who pass on their passion through their pride and hard work and who so strongly connect with the bounty of our province.”

The Hall of Fame event is open to all restaurant and foodservice professionals. The BCRFA proudly donates a portion of the evening’s proceeds to the BC Hospitality Foundation as a way to give back to the people who make our industry world-class.

Early bird tickets for the October 7 gala are now available for purchase online or by phone: 604-669-2239 www.bcrfa.com www.bcrfahalloffame.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.